Universidad del País Vasco/ Euskal Herriko Unibertsitatea (UPV/EHU)

The University of the Basque Country (UPV/EHU) (www.ehu.eus)

The University of the Basque Country (UPV/EHU) is a teaching and research institution officially founded in 1985. The university employs over 7.000 people throughout 31 faculties and schools geographically distributed in three campuses with over 50,000 undergraduate and postgraduate students. The UPV/EHU is the Spanish University offering the highest number of doctorate programmes, one third of these degrees having a quality mention from the Spanish Ministry of Education. The UPV/EHU has been recognised as an International Excellence Research Campus by the Spanish Ministry of Science and Innovation.

Since the first Research Framework Programmes, the UPV/EHU has been very active and has participated in many collaborative projects and Marie Curie actions. With regards to the 7th Framework Programme, during the period 2007-2013, the University of the Basque Country participates in 94 projects, coordinating 22 of them and is the beneficiary 5 ERC Grants, accounting with more than 30 million euro of FP7 financing and more than 3 million euro of other European or International Programmes.

The High Performance Manufacturing group is part of the Mechanical Engineering Department of the Univ. of the Basque Country UPV/EHU, and focuses its research work in the study of the manufacturing processes. This working group has wide experience on industrial research projects in cooperation with different companies and technology centres. The projects carried out by the High Performance Manufacturing group are mainly focused on three main areas: Additive manufacturing, high performance metal cutting and EDM.

The quality of the research work is evidenced by the high number of publications in high impact journals (More than 55 publications included in the JCR index in the last 10 years) and in presentations at conferences, as well as with the presence of its members in the CIRP, in the SME (Society of Manufacturing Technology), ASM (American Society of Materials), New York Academy of Sciences, and European Mechanics Society (EMS).